2.

Dr. A. Smith motioned to approve. Dr. Metts seconded this motion. All approved.

Business:

Renewal:

Elizabeth Wofford

Dr. A. Smith motioned to approve. Dr. Ball seconded this motion. All approved.

Remove:

Dr. Christine Palmer Dr. Melissa Rosenberg Mr. James Moody

### **Education:**

New:

Christina Furrow, Affiliate (MED program)

Natalie Newvine, Affiliate (MED)

Dr. Jenkins motioned to approve. Dr. Metts seconded this motion. All approved.

Dr. Natalie Cruz, Full, (EdD program)

Dr. A. Smith motioned to approve. Dr. Weaver seconded this motion. All approved.

### PA Program:

Renew: Dr. Jerica Derr, promote to Full membership

Mrs. Poole motioned to approve. Dr. B. Smith seconded this motion. All approved.

#### **DPT Program:**

Remove: Dr. Jennifaye Brown (resigned from CSU);

New: Dr. Amanda Leve, Associate

Dr. Les Gilmer, Full Dr. Janet Tankersly, Full

Dr. Embler motioned to approve. Dr. Cruz seconded this motion. All approved.

5) Level 1 Report

# **LEVEL ONE REPORT September 2021**

# **NEW COURSE:**

### COUNSELING:

• COUN 610: Attachment theory in Counseling. (3). Pre: Admission to Program & COUN 505. A study of the foundational principles of attachment theory throughout the lifespan, including parent/child, romantic and God attachment relationships. Specific attention will be given in the context of case conceptualization, clinical applications, and counseling dynamics. This course will introduce the student to research in attachment theory, with particular focus on the helper's self-understanding and self-development.

Dr. Metts motioned to approve. Dr. A. Smith seconded this motion. All approved.

6) Other business: Dr. Yarbrough discussed the Graduate Assistantship program with the Council.

Attached: Current list of graduate faculty

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully,

Amanda Baron University Registrar

8) Other business: There was no other business; the meeting was adjourned.

# December 7, 2021 Addendum, approved by e-mail vote

**Updated Policies** 

### GRADUATE GRADE APPEAL POLICY:

• The Grade Appeal Policy online was outdated. An update was made to the undergraduate policy had never been applied and contained outdated language. Changes made were: clarifying procedure when a director is the instructor, removing "enrollment subcommittee," and allowing a chair to appoint a committee of three faculty members if needed on a case by case basis.

Dr. Maxwell Rollins motioned to approve. Dr. Jacob Thorp seconded the motion. All approved.

Respectfully,

Laura Rochester
Office of the Registrar

### **Graduate Council**

# **Approved Minutes**

# January 2022

<u>Present</u>: Dr. Scott Yarbrough, Dr. Vicki Ball, Dr. Jerica Derr, Dr. Marc Embler, Dr. Peter Jenkins, Dr. Gary Metts, Dr. Maxwell Rollins, Dr. Melvin Sinclair, Dr. Anthony Smith, Dr. Brian Smith, Dr. Jacob Thorp

<u>Absent</u>: Dr. Joseph Lin, Dr. Crissy Ortiz, Dr. Natalie Cruz, Dr. Angela Weaver, Ms. Amanda Baron

Ex-officio: Dr. Todd Ashby, Dr. Robert Doan, Dr. Gabrielle Poole, Dr. Michael Shipe, Dr. Elizabeth Woc 12 116.k9t7.k9t7. (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)¶J0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23.85 -1.15 0eY4 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23 (e)4)µJ0 Tc 0 TwC12 -0h(D)2 (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23 (e)4) (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23 (e)4) (e-4 3-5 (0D04ATy Tc 0fBT.23 (e)4) (e

- 7) Discussion: publishing and research: The Council discussed the importance of graduate faculty—particularly those in research-intensive fields—being involved in scholarship, national and regional organizations, and producing research. It is understood that the pandemic and lack of funding have had deleterious effects.
- 8) There was no other business; the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully,

Office of the Registrar

# **Graduate Council**

# **Approved Minutes**

# **March 2022**

<u>Present</u>: Dr. Scott Yarbrough, Dr. Vicki Ball, Dr. Natalie Cruz, Dr. Jerica Derr, Dr. Marc Embler, Dr. Peter Jenkins, Dr. Joseph Lin, Dr. Gary Metts, Dr. Crissy Ortiz, Dr. Maxwell Rollins, Dr. Melvin Sinclair, Dr. Brian Smith,

Absent: Dr. Anthony Smith, Dr. Jacob Thorp, Dr. Angela Weaver

Ex-officio

8) LEVEL 1 REPORT—Dr. Metts made a motion to approve. Dr. Rollins seconded the motion. All approved.

### Office of the Registrar

#### **Graduate Council**

#### **Minutes**

### April 2022

This agenda and attached CVs and Level 1 report (which is pasted in) distributed by email to all council members and members of Deans' Council with Graduate Programs on 25 April 2022.

Note that for this meeting, items are proposed as motions by submitters and seconded by myself.

1. Approval of March minutes, attached.

Motion: Registrar, Amanda Baron

Second: Dr. Yarbrough

Approved.

2. Level 1 Report: Attached Submitted by Dr. Jenkins, and Dr. Smith, seconded Dr. Yarbrough. Approved.

3. Approval of new Graduate Faculty appointments

#### Nielsen College of Business:

Rachel Smith, PhD: serving as this summer and joining as full-time faculty in fall. Proposed for Associate Grad Faculty membership. (Professional Prep)

Submitted by Dr. Rollins per Dean, Dr. Palmer, seconded Dr. Yarbrough. Approved.

#### College of Education:

Tammy Harosky, Ed. D: Associate membership, MED (Professional Prep) Krista Allison, PhD, Educational Leadership, EdD program (Research Intensive)

Submitted by Dr. Smith per Dean, Dr. Fernandez, seconded Dr. Yarbrough. Approved.

#### College of Science and Mathematics:

"Please appoint the following professors as full members to the Graduate Faculty at Charleston Southern University. These professors will teach in the MS in Biology (Start Summer 22)."

Renewal to Full; Research Intensive program

Melinda Walker, PhD, Professor of BIOL
Jim Brooks, PhD, Associate Professor of BIOLImelda Tirtajaya, PhD, Associate Professor of BIOL
Sam Vetro, MD, Assistant Professor of BIOL
Amy Nolan-Roney, PhD, Professor of BIOL
Pete Jenkins, PhD, Professor of BIOL

#### Associate to Full:

Melissa Fly, PhD, Associate Professor of BIOL

Submitted by Dr. Jenkins per Dean, Dr. Ashby, seconded Dr. Yarbrough. Approved.

4) There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned.